E-stories for sale! And other stuff…

I’ve set two new goals for myself beginning today.

  1. NaNoWriMo…Aspen style
    So there’s the writing challenge NaNoWriMo, which challenges you to write a novel in November. That’s 50,000 words in 30 days, or 1667 words per day. I did last year and I hit the word count! Woot! This year I’m doing it again with a slight twist. I decided to write one short story (of any length) per day for November, so that by December 1, I’ll have 30 short stories. I’m nervous and all that, but hell, i can’t afford negativity, so I’m going for it with gusto! In preparation I made myself a giant stack of writing prompts and put it in my desk drawer, which I’ll pull from every morning to create a story. This morning’s was a combination of:
    -one random song title (Dismantling Frank)
    -one random plot detail (dark secrets exposed)
    -and one character description (courtesy of my boyfriend)
    End result? 2000-word story that is decently entertaining for being written in about 2 hours. No, you can’t read it yet. Not until sometime after its edited. But that’s what December is for…the editing.
  2. One Million Stories-DIY publishedIndonesia Jazz-CoverI have four stories for 99 cents each, or you can buy the whole package for $3.50.

    Buy now!

    I’ve decided to aim REALLY high with this one–sell one million copies of my stories, DIY-published by lil’ ol’ me, by Nov 2, 2014 (wanted it to be today, but I’ve had some tech issues today so starting the count tomorrow). I know, it’s far-fetched, you don’t need to lecture me or bash me. But you know what they say…shoot for the stars and you’ll hit the moon! Don’t get me wrong. I’m really going for 1,000,000 story sales, but I’m not going to consider myself a failure if I don’t achieve that exact number. I’ve figured out a social media campaign that will work for a while, anyway, before it gets boring. Each story is only going to cost $1, though I’m hoping to sell packages too. Anyway, it’s a goal. This one has been challenging because I’ve had to learn how to convert my Word .docs into .epubs, which was a pretty big challenge. I used Calibre, which is pretty straight-forward but has its limitations. Also, apparently .epubs can’t be read on Kindles, so I have to find a work-around for that. Another challenge has been creating covers for the stories. I thought that would be a good idea. Wrong! Time-consuming and already expensive, since I purchased the images from iStock. But I ran it through InDesign and created covers that I like (very simple, mind you). But one turned out distorted (I think I purchased an image that was too small), and two don’t show up in Calibre for some reason that I can’t understand. Frustration abounds, and poor Luke has to field it. Sigh. Next step is to load my stories into my Big Cartel site so that you (anyone) can purchase them!!!! But I’m really nervous. I haven’t got this part figured out yet, so it’s going to be really really clunky for now. You’re going to click the button to purchase, and possibly the program is going to email me, then I’m going to manually email you the .epub and cover picture, which you’ll download onto your device and open in your chosen e-reader. At least, this is what will happen in theory. In reality, I’m not sure because I haven’t done it yet. That’s what the rest of this afternoon will be dedicated to.

No matter what the end product looks like, please remember:
-I wrote the story
-I edited the story
-I converted it to .epub
-I created the cover
-I DIYed the sh*t out of it!!!
Appreciate the errors as the stench of authenticity!?! Please?! I want the cost savings and the independence of doing things this way, soI’m willing to see where this goes. I aim to make the process as smooth as possible, but bear with me as I iron the bugs out of the process.
I’ll be posting different stories for sale probably every month or so, so continue to check back.¬†Thanks, and I hope you enjoy reading my work!

-Aspen

One thought on “E-stories for sale! And other stuff…

Leave a Reply

