10K: Widow Main

On January 20, 2015, I got up as usual to take the dogs for a walk. Felt like trying a new trail, so I went to this one, known as Widow. I had been up about 1 or 2 km before, but on Jan. 20, I decided to see if I could make it 5K up the trail, then come back down. I wanted to see how long it would take me to do 10K, since one of the other guys on the volunteer fire department asked folks to do a 10K walk or run with him.

It was a great hike. It started out gloomy and rainy (welcome to BC winters!) but turns out I walked far enough up that I found the sunshine and enjoyed a few minutes of it! The creek that parallels the road, I’m not sure if it’s Widow (there are some junctions, and I know at the lower reaches it is Cottonwood but I’d need to see a map to verify the name) is absolutely gorgeous, and got even moreso the higher up I went. It turned from wide and flat to narrow with deep pools joined by a series of short waterfalls. The water looked almost velvety, that waterfall look that makes you want to jump in. I didn’t but the dogs did enough times!

Anyway, not much to say about this one, since it was about a month ago now, but I’m glad I did it and I’m glad it was way easier than I thought it would be. I found about the seven or eight kilometre mark was when I started to feel tired, but since I was already on my way back (turned back just past 5K) there wasn’t much I could do. And it wasn’t just a little tired, it was total exhaustion, like my mind was telling me I couldn’t go on. It was strange. I think I “bonked” which is the exercise enthusiast term for I needed to eat. I hadn’t brought anything with me, no water, no snacks, nothing. To be honest, I didn’t know at the beginning of my walk that I was going to go 10K. Anyway, with much singing and skipping to encourage myself on, I made it just fine and learned to bring a snack for next time.

Click on a photo for a slide show of the gallery.

 

This entry was posted in 10K-A-Day, Discovery, environment, Fitness, Health, Inspiration, lifestyle, Nikita, Oreo, Outdoors, Reflection, Self, Travel, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

