10K-A-Day: Cottonwood

Went up Cottonwood Creek today, 5K up and 5K back. Actually a little father but closer enough. There was a ton of elk sign along the trail today that looked quite fresh, and the dogs were pretty interested so I think I was following an elk or two the whole way. I’m in a bit of a hurry, so don’t have too much to say about the hike, except that the light was gorgeous, although I wasn’t in the sunshine most of the walk. The trail, another old logging road, is in the shadow of a hill, but you can see the sun across the creek and it shines on the brilliant green moss hanging from the trees and it is still beautiful and still brings joy. Saw some cool rocks in the creek too, one looked like a baby elephant bending over in the water having a swim. I have a vivid imagination when it comes to seeing shapes in rocks and pieces of wood. I took less photos of this trail because I’ve been up and down it a number of times. I don’t want to say that I find it boring, but the first 5K doesn’t get the spectacular views like some of the other trails that I’ve walked.

Anyway, below are the photos. Click to see them in a slideshow.

This entry was posted in 10K-A-Day, Discovery, environment, Fitness, Health, Inspiration, lifestyle, Meditation, Mental Health, Nikita, Oreo, Outdoors, Reflection, Self, Travel, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 10K-A-Day: Cottonwood

  1. Pingback: 30 Hikes in 30 Days | In the Wild Spaces

Leave a Reply

