8 days down, 22 more to go

I’ve survived the first eight days of my self-challenge, 30 Hikes in 30 Days. 22 left to go! I’ve given myself permission to repeat trails. If I were going to do this again, I’d actually plan it ahead of time and pick all 30 routes before I started and recce them all to verify locations. I’d set out a schedule, too. But hey, this way is working, too.

Sunday was Luke’s birthday and we finished off the day by hiking up Bald Mountain. It was nice to have him along, and it’s definitely one of my favourite trails so far.

DSC_1592[1]

 

 

Today, both me and the dogs were pretty tired out, so I chose to do a little piece of the Trans-Canada Trail starting in Lake Cowichan. It’s a flat, manicured and very well maintained trail. I liked it for those reasons, but I was a little put off by walking through the town, even though the trail is still pretty quiet. But the part that I walked also parallels a road for some of the way, and I didn’t like that too much. For an urban walking trail, it’s awesome, but compared to some of the trails I’ve been doing where I’m the only moving thing around for kilometres, it was a little too populated for my liking. We saw about four people in the 2 hours it took me to walk 10 K. So trail pros: the flat trail was easy to walk on and no elevation gain meant fast pace. Cons: populated, heard road noises. But still a beautiful trail and a great day to enjoy it.

DSC_1617[1] DSC_1613[1]

This entry was posted in 10K-A-Day, 30 Hikes in 30 Days, environment, Fitness, Health, Mental Health, Outdoors, Self and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 8 days down, 22 more to go

  1. Mary-Jo says:

    It looks so beautiful and green out on the Island Aspen. Although the snow and ice are fast disappearing here we still have a fair bit to go but spring is fast approaching. Busy seeding in the garage. My Mom died in February so just getting kind of back to normal here – wanting to get out to the coast for a break but I don’t know if it’ll happen. Calling your Mom today. Take care and belated Happy birthday to Luke.

Leave a Reply

