10-year plan

Aug. 2, where does the time go? I feel like there have been so many changes in the past month, it boggles my mind a little.

In the past month, I have:

  • Worked as a pizza delivery girl for a month, raising just over $1000  (works out to about 12/hr), which I paid onto my VISA  (in line with my goal to pay off debt)
  • Found a great walking trail where I can take the dogs off leash
  • Took a self improvement course that was very challenging but also informative
  • Almost for sure got my old job back at the YYJ airport (just waiting on paperwork and hopefully by then my sprained ankle will be healed)
  • Returned to being a homeowner (my partner decided he is unable to afford the house and asked if I wanted it. I said absolutely)
  • Called to reduce my student loan payments and ask for Loan assistance, which means if I am approved, the 60 cents per day interest will be waived for 6 months.
  • Took stock of my current debt load and learned that it is $10,000 less than I thought it was. Hooray!

So now my priorities have changed. My main priority is working my ass off so I can pay for the house. My ex partner will stay until Oct and then move out. I may get a renter into the spare room for September who will hopefully stay for the winter or longer.

The job I’m getting is 1.5 hrs away from my house, which adds complexity, but it’s a job I like, I know I like the people, the starting wage has increased since I last worked there, and they have lots of hours for me. The job also pays benefits. My plan is to find an affordable way to stay near work on my days on and home on my days off. The one thing I don’t know yet is what to do about my dogs. My mom said she can take care of them while she’s in town but she has a trip planned late August and then may go away for the winter. Anyway, I guess I’ll cross that bridge if I have to. Maybe my place near work will allow me to bring them, but really they need someone to watch them and my shifts could be up to 10 or 11 hrs.

Other than that detail, which I’ll figure out, my plan seems pretty solid. I’ve done a budget and I think it will be affordable, just barely. It will really help to get that renter in, because the one detail I haven’t factored in is caring for the property, like yard maintenence, etc.

What worries me the most is the expenses I’ve overlooked and haven’t planned for. Hopefully I’ll be able to work those things out, while also still being able to pay down my debts.

A friend of mine recently moved into a higher position at his job. I congratulated him and he said thanks, that he’s been working for it for the past 10 years.

That’s how I’m approaching this. I want the house and it’s not going to be easy for the next few years or so, but I’m in a 10-year plan now, or longer, so I’ll just “knuckle down and be okay with this,” to quote Ani DiFranco.

I look forward to finally having something to make me get out of bed every morning. My ability to trust and have faith in myself, however, needs some work because I’m scared I’ll change my mind once it gets too hard.

Oh well, I guess at least I’ll see what I’m made of.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 10-year plan

  1. Good for you Aspen – so glad you are looking forward and the idea and goal of home ownership is WONDERFUL!!!! Keep pressing on – we are all behind you 100%. I’m finally getting job interviews but no offers yet – three more jobs I’m applying to this week – I’ve repeatedly applied in the past to two of them (no luck) but the third is a new opening with the Provincial Gov. so I may have a better chance – well below what I should be making at this stage in my life but, oh well, that’s just the way it turned out for me. I have a community tour of my veggie garden on Sunday – very bad year with our drought et al. – but I’m trying to get everything to look as good as I can and get a bee hotel set up in time. I’m also working on a 2ft by 4ft pollinator log to add to a smaller one I’ve made. I also may be adopting one of Shaka’s sisters – Leda – being surrendered in Calgary. I’m supposed to be looking for a family to take her but I find I’m not making much effort – hello? – I want her myself! Take care and know that I think of you a lot – with love. Mary-Jo

    • Aspen Gainer says:

      Wow, congrats on the job interviews! That’s so great! As always I find the energy with which you garden to be mind boggling. Your gardens and garden projects sound so amazing. One day I will be able to dedicate the energy, but right now I am burnt out from watching someone else garden to exhaustion.
      Cool to hear about your doggie. I think it’s meant to be that Leda comes home to you 🙂
      I think about you lots too!
      -best,
      Aspen

Leave a Reply

